28 SEP 2017

The Eurasian Patent Organization plans to implement the Eurasian patent for an industrial design

In September 2017 was held a meeting of the Administrative Council of the Eurasian Patent Organization (AC EAPO). The main outcome of the meeting of the member States` representatives is the decision to start a work on the mechanism of a common Eurasian patent for an industrial design.

EAPO administrative Council instructed the President of the Office Saule Tlevlessova to establish a working group to study this question, and the representatives of the States until September 15, 2018 to represent the position of the States on this issue and to initiate the internal procedures.

Eurasian Convention for the protection of industrial designs will be considered by the diplomatic conference of the Organization in 2018.

There are 8 member states of The Eurasian Patent Organization (EAPO) : Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan.