Eurasian Patent Organization in figures


Eurasian Patent Convention was signed on September 9, 1994, by 11 countries, namely: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine. And has entered into force on August 12, 1995.

However, the Convention has not been ratified by Georgia and Ukraine and on April 11, 2011, was denounced by Moldova.

Currently, there are 8 EAPO member states: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan.

Due to the broad geographical coverage of the Eurasian Patent and consequently simplified procedure, it is popular among applicants, especially who are interested in entering the PCT stage in the jurisdictions mentioned above. 

For example, during 1996-2004 years there were 9577 applications filed, among which 8065 applications (84,21 %) were filed under PCT. The same dynamic maintains throughout the years.

Below you may find more information in figures about the applications filed with EAPO during Organization existence as well as more detailed statistics on the 2018 year.

For the understanding of the registration process with the EAPO, you may study our infographic by the link.

If there are still questions to be answered or you become interested in the patent application filing with EAPO, simply contact us at